Home > Life > Valentine’s Day and Chinese New Year

Valentine’s Day and Chinese New Year

This year was quite an unusual one in that Chinese New Year fell on the same day as Valentine’s Day. Beckie would be super lucky since her birthday also falls on Valentine’s Day- triple the fun and presents!!!! Envious!

I think apart from the huge dinner, the one thing everyone looks forward to (anyone that isn’t married haha) is getting red pocket!  I love red pocket money 🙂  It’s also a time to pig out on heaps of nice snacks too!

We were lucky enough to be able to celebrate Valentine’s Day on the actual day this year, since we were having the big family dinner on Monday.  Unfortunately for me I was quite annoyed by the end of the day because some inconsiderate couple came into the shop just as I was closing, and thought I would have no where else better to be but working overtime.  Ended up missing the early bus while the late bus came late.. was very very annoyed, poor Ricky had to cop it.

But Ricky surprised me with a little bag full of goodies.  Felt a bit bad since I decided I wouldn’t prepare anything for him this year ><

My Pandora is getting fuller and fuller, all personally chosen by my boy (except for the M and the actual bracelet itself.. wouldn’t have been possible without Joey ehehe) 🙂  I decided I shall go and get it reduced.  Been so lazy to do it, but I think I should finally just get it done.. when I have some time.

The new year is starting out alright.  I feel that I became more active in my plans and goals, not like before where I would think about it a lot, but never actually do it.  First off I started exercising, not a lot, but at least I am doing 2-3 20-30 minute sessions a week.  I’ve landed myself a one term job with Ipswich Special School.  Not the best of places, but it’s a good place to start learning since it’s not extremely full on, and I’ve been learning at my own pace and slowly figuring things out.  Of course it’s not perfect but hopefully I will be able to settle into it soon, although I probably won’t be staying there for long.  I think I’ve decided I like community vs. hospital more now.  I guess that’s good since I have some sort of idea where I want to head towards.  Hopefully this year turns out alright for me.

Categories: Life Tags:
  1. February 16, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    congrats on the job!

    no red pocket for me this year 😦 boo…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

