Home > Uncategorized > Korean make up + chocolate cravings

Korean make up + chocolate cravings

Been having a crazy chocolate craving phase this past month.  I’ve been eating Freddo frogs as my meal when I get really busy at work – sort of keeps me up and running… lol

Let me introduce you to my half finished “Chocolate Monster” – made up of chocolate ice cream, chocolate bits, maltesers, a bit of milk, and cream.  They also put a block of chocolate on the top too.  I can’t even describe how awesome that piece of chocolate was!!  Purchased from an ice cream store that replaced Yogen Fruz (what the heck happened to that place anyway?  I really wanted to try their Green tea frappe) at Carindale shopping centre.  It looked sooo dodgey when it was being made, but boy is this chocolate lover’s heaven… horrrrr.. not overly sweet either.

Now to second half of my mediocre length post – Korean make up a.k.a VOV cosmetics.  Was waiting around at Sunnypark when I spotted this little korean store.  Long and behold, there was a table full of VOV cosmetics!!  Had been eyeing their shadows for so long.

VOV Castledew Color Shot Eyes

Blue is very hard to get pigment and ends up looking pretty much the same as the white.  Not really my style of eyeshadows TBH but probably a good light day make up.  It definitely lives up to its name of “pearl effect”

VOV Castledew Diacut Eyes E902

The finish of these E/S are more shimmery but still a bit pearly.  Texture is sort of chalky for the lighter colours, and better in the darker colours.  Again, overall not very exciting.  Would reach for my Jap ones over these any day.  Regretful 😦  But it’s alright, they didn’t cost an arm or a leg

VOV Eye Max Volume Up mascara.  Came with a free eyelash curler – Does the job although definitely doesn’t feel like a quality curler haha

Short stubbled comb-like bristles.  Pretty good IMO.  The formula itself does volume and can be layered.  However it does flop the eyelashes if it is used as the first layer (Pretty fail since it claimed to curl).  I have no flopping issues at all even with layering up to 3-4 coats if I use Heroine Make first.  It lasts a whole day and the SA said it was waterproof.  I have my doubts though but haven’t tested it out.

Update: The mascara has good lasting power, but is definitely not waterproof as it easily washes off with cold water.

Lastly, went to the Coast with my parents the other weekend, and stopped by at a Japanese grocery store at Southport Centro on the way home.  It has a $2.50 section!! It used to be something stupid like $1 but of course all good things come to and end.  $2.50 is still a bargain XD I also saw that they had this little sunscreen in the cosmetics section for $9.95 woot woot 😀

It’s tiny with only 30mL but good for travel.  The texture is slightly creamier than Allie’s one, but smooths on to provide a transparent and non-greasy finish.  If only it came in a larger bottle!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , , ,
  1. bella
    September 25, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Hi Hun,
    I really love Casstle dew make up I ran across it when a friend had it on they are great I would love to sell the product in my make up store in the states however I can get a hold of VOV who is the supplier do you know any other way I can get my hand on all the products?

  2. miky612
    September 25, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    I’m really not sure how you can get a good hold of their products, as I only got it from a Korean store in Brisbane (Australia). The people there probably got them from Korea as well. Ebay may have some? Sorry I’m not too much help ><

  3. ss
    December 10, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    hey, can i ask which powder is of a lighter shade? bihadashi or covercom? i’m nc 15-20 and i know bihadashi was slightly darker than i liked it to be.. 😦 thanks!

    • miky612
      December 11, 2010 at 7:00 am

      I did a quick swipe of the two just then, and covercom is indeed lighter than bihadashi. If even that fails I found that the korean brands are much lighter. Thanks for passing by 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

