Home > Uncategorized > Packages with love and make up brush cleaning

Packages with love and make up brush cleaning

Ella dropped off this bag of goodies for me last night, she’s so nice!!!

She said that she had too much and wanted to pass them onto me, but… my gawd.. so much, and all of them were coincidentally things I’ve been wanting to try!

Serums, Skin food Omija Whitening set, sleeping masks, face masks, eye masks, eye cream, and even two pair of CK jeans that were too big for her.  Surprisingly they fit me.. and were actually a little loose too… I feel good XD AHAHAHA

Anyways thank you so much ^^ Going to cherish all of these!

I’ve been inspired by all these make up tool cleaning videos I’ve been seeing on youtube and I went on a make up tool cleaning spree at like.. 12am one night, and spent 2-3 hours on it… seriously late night lol

I am really lazy, and I just sit them on top of my box if I am just quick cleaning them.

Don’t do that if you are washing your brushes people…

Something different was a video by BeautyQQ.

She is so unique and creative, her ideas are always different.  This inspired me to clean even my sponge tip applicators – something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time but was worried they wouldn’t survive the cleaning process.

Couldn’t get all the colour out but they are pretty clean 🙂

I am reluctant to put these under the tap though, because I think it would really ruin the applicators.

Example of ruined sponge tip applicator.  This is an old Kate one.

From this cleaning experience, I really got to learn more about the different sponge tip applicators offered by various brands.

I found that the poorer quality sponge tips didn’t survive the cleaning process.

What I have found is that each brand rarely alternates sponge tip applicators and each brand has its own unique perks.

The best applicators I found were by Esprique, Lunasol, Coffret D’or and Visee.  The sponge part was dense, did not move around a lot on the plastic bit when wiping them, and were easiest to clean.

My experience is that, the best applicators must pass two tests.

  1. When you bend the sponge part, it shouldn’t feel like the sponge is moving too differently on the plastic bit inside.
  2. When you squeeze the sponge, it shouldn’t depress a lot.  It should feel quite springy.  Jill Stuart and some of Visee’s newer applicators were too squishy.

My favourite of them all is the one in the new Visee Glam Shade eyes.  I love how the bigger end is pointy as well!

I was worried that Lunasol’s applicators would crumble because I saw a few extra holes show up when cleaning it but it turned out alright.

Kate’s sponge tip applicators apply well, but also crumbled the most!! I don’t know why this is the case because they feel similar to Visee’s forming eyes ones.

At the top is Visee’s Glam Nude x Royal Party e/s, and below is from Blossom Eyes.

These were the poorer quality ones by Visee when they were trying to be innovative and putting a brush on one end.  I’m so glad they stopped doing that because it was horrible!

As you can see, the seams split apart because the sponge tip was too floppy and moved around the plastic when I was wiping it.

I used Bare Escentual’s quick change brush cleaner to do all my cleaning.

I was too lazy to wash them with water.  Shall do it next time ahaha

This quick change brush cleaner has a purpose of doing a quick clean for your brushes so that you can use many colours with the same brush.

Pros

  • Really does do a quick clean, it can clean waterproof eyeliner off the brush too
  • Relatively cheap, $17AUD from Strawberrynet
  • generous size – 110mL
  • hygienic bottle
  • I choose this to clean my sponge tip applicators
Cons
  • Very strong scent
  • Have to spray at least 4 sprays onto cloth before you can start cleaning your brushes
  • Can actually use up a lot of product by the end of all that cleaning
  • Does leave some residue, so still need to actually wash the brushes after a few quick cleans
  • Not really that quick drying
At the end of the day, I don’t know if I would repurchase.  I wouldn’t say I definitely won’t but I would need to try other products first.
And to end my super long post,
I bought all this lace from a craft shop at Greenslopes.  So many pretty laces – I need to put my mind in creative mode again and turn this into jewellery.
This could take a while… lol…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

